Celebrating POC Authors in Fantasy: K. R. S. McEntire

Updated: Jun 6



K. R. S. McEntire lives on a healthy diet of fiction and tea. She loves art, photography, and travel because, like books, they allow her to explore new worlds. She lives in Indianapolis with her husband and runs the Facebook page Diverse Fantasy and Sci-Finds, where she shares book recommendations with other bibliophiles.


Interview with K. R. S. McEntire


What genre(s) do you write in?

YA dystopian / Fantasy / Sci-Fi

When did you decide that you wanted to write in your Genre?

My story idea was inspired by a music video. The beautiful garden in a dead world that I saw in the video inspired me to pick a post-apocalyptic setting, and I've always loved dystopian books.

What things in your life do you draw inspiration from?

With dystopian books, I can explore the “what if’s.” What if the vices of the real world were taken to fictional extremes? Medical experimentation, war, and discrimination are all very much part of the real world, and they all take place in Finding Eden. I had an ARC reader say in a review they were shocked that the townspeople were okay with watching public executions - but, sadly, that is also a part of history.

What is the purpose of your writing? Is there a specific message that you hope to convey?

A lot of post-apocalyptic and dystopian books can focus on doom and gloom - what needs to be done to just survive. I try to write stories with a hopeful tone. Can a dead world be reborn? Can “bad people” be made better? I try to write books that celebrate redemption and restoration while also being light, fun reads.

How much of yourself is reflected in your writing?

While I don’t think any of my characters are 100% me, there are pieces of myself in many of my characters. I have a bit of Angela’s rose-colored glasses, Lilah’s determination, and Adam’s drive to make a difference in the world.

What can readers expect to see from you in the next year? Any new releases, features or celebrations?

I’m working on an Alice in Wonderland retelling that will be part of an anthology. It’s my first time working on a group project - with a deadline - so wish me the best. This will be late summer 2020.




Check out Finding Eden!





A mutant searching for sanctuary. A hunter hot on her trail.


Lilah has heard rumors of a garden paradise known as Eden somewhere out in the wilds. Forced out of post-apocalyptic Chicago when her mutant abilities come to light, it's her only hope of safety.


But she's not the only one roaming the wastelands.


On Adam’s first mission as a newly-qualified Warden, he is tasked with finding and destroying the heart of the Resistance–Eden.


When Lilah's and Adam's destinies collide, neither can deny the spark of attraction between them, but how long can they journey together before their secrets come to light?


When Lilah lets down her barriers, Adam sees her for who she truly is and is faced with an impossible choice–between duty and his heart.


Finding Eden is a gripping dystopian adventure, perfect for fans of Delirium, Shatter Me, Divergent, and The Hunger Games.


Excerpt from the book:


"You don’t understand. Everyone has always been against me. If everyone is against you, you’ll start to question things about yourself. You’ll assume their words must be true. If I had any type of magic, I’d still have my family. I wouldn’t need to hide out here.”


Then Nathan’s voice took a more commanding tone.


“I want you to listen to my words, and listen closely,” he said. “The world never tries to destroy the weak. The weak are not a threat. If people try to destroy you, it’s because you are powerful.”


GRAB A COPY OF FINDING EDEN!

Get Connected with K. R. S. McEntire

Website

Facebook


FOLLOW ME

  • Instagram
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

© 2020 by JESSICA CAGE